Spellbound at San Francisco Ballet

Heather Cassidy Martin, Spellbound at San Francisco Ballet, SF Ballet Gala 2020, Opening Night at San Francisco Ballet
Opening Night Gala Decor Chair Heather Cassidy Martin and David Martin

San Francisco Ballet Gala 2020: Spellbound

Artistic Director and Principal Choreographer Helgi Tomasson presented opening night for the San Francisco Ballet 2020 Repertory Season with a grand plan to leave the audience spellbound. Based on his record-breaking 35 successful seasons at the helm, Helgi can both state and reach such lofty goals. San Francisco Ballet is regarded as one of the most refined ballet companies in the world.

Spellbinding Performances

Helgi’s spellbinding opening night performance featured twelve pieces that highlighted the upcoming season. The theme was inspired by the magical, ethereal elements of the productions including A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Cinderella. The program included two world premieres choreographed by two members of the San Francisco Ballet family. Corp de Ballet member Myles Thatcher presented 05:49, and former Principal Dancer Val Caniparoli introduced Foreshadow.

The gala celebrating the beginning of San Francisco Ballet’s 87th season marked the very first opening gala for Executive Director Kelly Tweeddale. Tweeddale replaced Glenn McCoy who retired in 2019 after a 32-year career with the Company.

Scenes from Spellbound at San Francisco Ballet

Volunteers Contribute to Make it Magical

Red Carpet Bay Area salutes the San Francisco Ballet Auxiliary and Encore! members who volunteered their time to make the event a success. The Auxiliary, led by Gala Chair Patricia Roberts, hosted three fundraising dinners at City Hall prior to the performance. ENCORE!, the social and networking group of young professionals supporting SF Ballet hosted a cocktail buffet at City Hall. Gary S. Williams Jr. served as the ENCORE! Gala Chair.

Spellbound at San Francisco Ballet, SF Ballet Gala 2020, Opening Night at San Francisco Ballet
San Francisco Ballet Auxiliary Opening Gala Committee: Dr. Shokooh Miry, Pam Preston, Ann Katherine Baer, Trecia Knapp, Samantha Wallrabens, Rene Rodman, Elizabeth Mitchell, Freddi Wilkinson, Patricia Roberts, Lori Harmon, Heather Cassidy Martin, Kate Coffino, Rada Brooks, Rebecca Kaykas-Wolff, Katie Colendich and Wendy Armstrong attend SF Ballet Opening Night Gala 2020 on January 16th 2020 at War Memorial in San Francisco, CA (Photo – Drew Altizer)

Photos by Drew Altizer Photography and Erik Tomasson for San Francisco Ballet